Advanced Barber College & Hair Design, Inc. is an equal educational opportunity institution. Qualified applicants are admitted regardless of the person’s race, ethnic background, physical handicap, or other non-ability or skill-related characteristic.
Each student will be given every opportunity to reach successful completion with no unreasonable expectations on any particular student. ABC is a brick and mortar school and only offers classes in person.
Applicants must fulfill the following prerequisites before enrolling:
1. Students must be at least 16 years old and meet one of the following educational
A. High school diploma
C. Transcript from school
As per the Department of Education, Prior to July 1, 2012, students who did not have a high school diploma or equivalent had to pass an ATB test in order to qualify to apply for federal financial aid (Title IV). That option was eliminated on July 1, 2012 except for students who were enrolled prior to July 1, 2012. The standard as published by the U.S. Department of Education has been adopted by the college. For those students admitted on the “Ability-To-Benefit” basis who were enrolled prior to July 1, 2012, our written admissions procedure are the same as all other students. The standard as published by the U.S. Department of Education has been adopted by the college as part of the admissions criteria.
2. Prior to acceptance by the school, each applicant must:
A. Appear for a personal interview with school officials
B. Complete an enrollment application
3. Prior to beginning classes, each student must complete and provide the school
A. A Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation enrollment form
B. A copy of his/her High School Diploma, GED, school transcript or ATB test
C. Four identical pictures (Passport size)
D. The $235.00 school enrollment fee $25 of which is sent to the Texas
Department of Licensing and Regulation.
If a student transfers to Advanced Barber College after an interruption, ABC shall notify the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, and a new student certificate will be issued. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation requires that ABC furnish the name of the school from which a student transferred, and the approximate date of enrollment in that school. A student will then be re-evaluated upon completing an application for transfer by the school administration and based on hours needed to complete under the state law. A student transferring will be charged a $235.00 fee to be paid to ABC and not the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. A student can transfer programs within the intuition but cannot transfer clock-hours from one program to another within the same school.